ELT Group 2016-2017
Louise Bradley, MS, RN, CHE
Louise Bradley
President and Chief Executive Officer

Louise Bradley, MS, RN, CHE, has dedicated her professional life to improving the mental health of Canadians.

Ms. Bradley’s own deeply personal experience with recovery has informed a leadership style that is both compassionate and courageous. Unwavering in her commitment to reimagining a recovery-oriented, person-centred mental health system, Ms. Bradley has influenced improved patient care through large-scale hospital administration and pioneered recovery within a forensics and corrections setting.

An impassioned advocate, Ms. Bradley feels her professional perspective is enriched and authenticated by her lived experience. In her current role as President and CEO of the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC), Ms. Bradley oversaw the development of Canada’s first Mental Health Strategy, undertook the signature Opening Minds anti-stigma initiative, and created a globally recognized Knowledge Exchange Centre. A tireless advocate for workplace mental health, Ms. Bradley has overseen the creation of the world’s first workplace psychological safety standard, which has gained international acclaim.

Lauded as a transformational leader by the Canadian Psychological Association (CPA), Ms. Bradley received the 2017 Humanitarian Award for her work to enhance the psychological well-being of Canadians. Ms. Bradley is also the recipient of the Innovation Award for Health Care Leadership, bestowed by the Canadian College of Health Leaders, as well as the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal.

She holds degrees from Dalhousie University and Northeastern University in Boston, and was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science from St. Mary’s. She is frequently called upon to speak and write nationally and internationally on various mental health topics. Ms. Bradley uses her platform to urge increased mental health funding, and highlight the need to work inclusively to address the mental health needs of vulnerable and at-risk populations.

Ms. Bradley has a passion for nurturing emerging mental health leaders, and prioritizes the mentorship of young champions in the hope of inspiring the next generation of transformational leaders.

Ed Mantler
Ed Mantler
Vice President, Programs and Priorities
  • A highly motivated visionary and an expert at building partnerships, engaging stakeholders, and inspiring change, Ed has led innovation and improvement in healthcare for over two decades.
  • As Vice President of Programs and Priorities at the Mental Health Commission of Canada, Ed is dedicated to promoting mental health and changing the attitudes of Canadians toward mental health problems and illnesses. By collaborating with stakeholders to improve mental health services and supports, he leads the way for change. Ed pays particular attention to reducing stigma and increasing mental resiliency through innovative measures like Mental Health First Aid, the National Standard for Psychological Health and Safety in the Workplace, the Mental Health Strategy for Canada, the Knowledge Exchange Centre and Prevention and Promotion activities.
  • Ed is accustomed to wearing many different hats. He was CEO of the Physician Recruitment Agency of Saskatchewan and Senior Operating Officer of the University of Alberta Hospital. As an Accreditation Surveyor with Accreditation Canada, he contributes to quality and safety in healthcare across Canada and internationally. Ed is also a Registered Psychiatric Nurse, holds a Master’s of Science Administration, and is a Certified Health Executive.
Michel Rodrigue, CPA, CMA, MBA
Michel Rodrigue, CPA, CMA, MBA
Vice-President, Organizational Performance and Public Affairs
  • Michel joined the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) in 2015, bringing a wealth of management experience and a unique mix of expertise in operations management, finance and accounting, information technology, human resources and communications.
  • As Vice President, Organizational Performance and Public Affairs, Michel aligns the Commission’s operational plans and organizational processes with its strategic objectives and priorities. His track record of delivering on major initiatives and his proficient management of an organization’s various functions ensures the MHCC has the infrastructure and support required to sustain leading-edge organizational performance.
  • Michel measures the impact of MHCC focus areas and their activities to supervise operations, track and report on progress, and evaluate performance.
  • A lifelong learner, Michel has an Executive MBA, Université du Québec in Montreal, QC. He has his Chartered Professional Accountant - Certified Management Accountant (CPA, CMA) designation; a graduate diploma in financial accounting and management accounting, Université du Québec in Outaouais, QC; and a Bachelor of Arts in History from Laurentian University, Sudbury, ON.
  • Michel is also an alumnus from two prestigious executive education programs: the Queens Executive Program and the Harvard Program on Negotiations.
Robert (Rob) Thomas, MBA, CPA, CGA
Robert (Rob) Thomas, MBA, CPA, CGA
Vice President, Corporate Services & Chief Financial Officer
  • Rob has over 12 years of senior financial management experience with not-for-profit and privately owned organizations.
  • Rob’s most recent role was as Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and Vice President of Finance with the YMCA, both in Ottawa and St. John’s, Newfoundland.
  • Rob is a Certified Professional Accountant, a Certified General Accountant and received a Master of Business Administration from Memorial University of Newfoundland.
  • As Vice President, Corporate Services & Chief Financial Officer Rob provides leadership to the overall direction and support of financial management within the Commission and is responsible for supporting the Board of Directors and Committees of the Board in discharging their fiduciary responsibilities.

ELT Group 2016-2017
louise bradley photo
Louise Bradley
Présidente-directrice générale

Louise Bradley a consacré sa carrière à l’amélioration de la santé mentale de la population canadienne. Infirmière autorisée, elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences et détient l’agrément du Collège canadien des leaders en santé.

Son leadership, empreint de courage et de compassion, s’inspire de son expérience personnelle du rétablissement. Son engagement inébranlable en vue de réinventer le système de santé mentale pour qu’il soit axé sur la personne et le rétablissement a favorisé l’amélioration des soins aux patients dans les grandes administrations hospitalières et popularisé le concept du rétablissement dans le milieu judiciaire et correctionnel.

Ardente défenseure de la santé mentale, Mme Bradley estime que son expérience personnelle vient enrichir et valider sa perspective professionnelle. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions de présidente-directrice générale de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada, elle a piloté le développement de la toute première Stratégie en matière de santé mentale pour le Canada, lancé l’initiative phare de lutte contre la stigmatisation Changer les mentalités et mis sur pied le centre d’échange des connaissances de renommée mondiale. Militant sans relâche pour la santé mentale en milieu de travail, Mme Bradley a dirigé la création de la toute première Norme sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques en milieu de travail, qui jouit désormais d’une renommée internationale.

Reconnue comme un leader transformationnel par la Société canadienne de psychologie, elle a reçu le prix pour réalisation humanitaire en 2017 pour son travail en vue d’améliorer le bien-être psychologique de la population canadienne. Mme Bradley est par ailleurs lauréate du prix pour le leadership innovateur en soins de santé accordé par le Collège canadien des leaders en soins de santé ainsi que de la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine.

Elle est diplômée de l’Université Dalhousie et de l’Université Northeastern de Boston. Elle a par ailleurs reçu un doctorat honorifique en sciences et est souvent appelée à prendre la parole et à rédiger des articles au sujet de la santé mentale au Canada et à l’étranger. Elle se sert de sa tribune pour réclamer un plus grand financement en santé mentale et faire ressortir le besoin de travailler de façon inclusive pour répondre aux besoins en santé mentale des populations vulnérables et à risque.

La formation des leaders émergents en santé mentale est l’une de ses passions et elle accorde une grande importance au soutien des jeunes champions afin d’inspirer la prochaine génération de leaders transformationnels.

Ed Mantler
Ed Mantler
Vice-président, Programmes et priorités
  • Très motivé, Ed Mantler est un visionnaire particulièrement doué pour établir des partenariats, mobiliser les intervenants et promouvoir le changement. Il a été un pionnier  de l’innovation et de l’amélioration dans le domaine des soins de santé depuis plus de deux décennies.
  • À titre de vice‑président des Programmes et des Priorités à la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada, Ed se consacre à la promotion de la santé mentale et au changement des attitudes des Canadiennes et des Canadiens à l’égard des problèmes et des troubles qui y sont liés. En collaborant avec des intervenants pour améliorer les services et les mécanismes de soutien en santé mentale, il ouvre la voie au changement. Il accorde une attention particulière à la réduction de la stigmatisation et à l’accroissement de la résilience grâce à des mesures novatrices comme le cours de Premiers soins en santé mentale, la Norme nationale du Canada sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques en milieu de travail, la Stratégie en matière de santé mentale pour le Canada, le Centre d’échange des connaissances et des activités de prévention et de promotion.
  • Ed a l’habitude de porter bien des chapeaux. Il a occupé le poste de PDG de l’Agence de recrutement des médecins (Physician Recruitment Agency) de la Saskatchewan et de directeur général de l’exploitation de l’Hôpital universitaire de l’Alberta. Comme vérificateur de l’agrément auprès d’Agrément Canada, il contribue à assurer la qualité et la sécurité des soins de santé à l’échelle du Canada et dans le monde entier. Il est également infirmier psychiatrique et titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des sciences et d’une certification comme cadre dans le domaine de la santé (Certified Health Executive).
Michel Rodrigue, CPA, CMA, MBA
Michel Rodrigue, CPA, CMA, MBA
Vice-président, Rendement organisationnel et affaires publiques
  • Michel Rodrigue s’est joint à la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada (la Commission) en 2015. Il apporte avec lui tout un bagage d’expérience en administration et une combinaison unique d’expertise en gestion des opérations, finances et comptabilité, technologie de l’information, ressources humaines et communications.
  • Dans son rôle de vice-président, rendement organisationnel et affaires publiques, M. Rodrigue harmonise les plans opérationnels et les processus organisationnels de la Commission à ses objectifs stratégiques et à ses priorités. Sa capacité démontrée de mener à bien des initiatives de premier plan et ses capacités de gestion dans  diverses fonctions d’une organisation lui permettent de veiller à ce que la Commission dispose de l’infrastructure et du soutien nécessaires pour continuer d’afficher un rendement exceptionnel.
  • M. Rodrigue mesure les impacts des activités entreprises selon les priorités de la Commission. Ces mesures lui permettent de superviser les opérations, faire le suivi des progrès, rendre compte et évaluer le rendement.
  • Il n’a jamais cessé de se perfectionner tout au long de sa vie. Il est titulaire d’une MBA pour cadres de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (Québec); il possède le titre de comptable professionnel agréé / comptable en management accrédité (CPA, CMA); il a un diplôme d’études supérieures en comptabilité financière et en comptabilité de gestion de l’Université du Québec en Outaouais (Québec); et un baccalauréat ès arts en histoire de l’Université Laurentienne de Sudbury, en Ontario.
  • M. Rodrigue est aussi un ancien élève de deux programmes d’études prestigieux pour les cadres : le Queens Executive Program et le Harvard Program on Negotiations.
Robert (Rob) Thomas, MBA, CPA, CGA
Robert (Rob) Thomas, MBA, CPA, CGA
Vice-président, Services corporatifs et directeur financier
  • Robert Thomas cumule plus de 12 ans d’expérience comme gestionnaire financier principal au sein d’organismes sans but lucratif et d’entreprises privées.
  • Son dernier poste en date est celui de directeur financier et de vice-président aux Finances du YMCA d’Ottawa et de celui de St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.
  • Titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve, M. Thomas est comptable professionnel agréé / comptable général accrédité (CPA, CMA).
  • À titre de vice-président, services corporatifs et directeur financier, M. Thomas exerce du leadership afin d’orienter et de soutenir la gestion financière au sein de la Commission, en plus d’assister le conseil d’administration et ses comités à s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités fiduciaires.